Aleutian Islands Waterways Safety Committee Meeting Summary

October 21, 2020 Webinar

Participants:

Committee Members

Chris Woodley - At Sea Fish Processors, Primary

Frank Vargas - Commercial Fishing, Primary

Ingo Rose - Tank Vessels

David Ridge - Barges (including cargo and petroleum) and associated tugs, Alternate

Captain Chris Iszler – Assist Tugs, Primary

Ernie Weiss – Local Government, Alternate

Jennifer Tungul - Terminal Operators, Primary

Herbert Ray - P & I Clubs, Primary

Todd Duke - Salvage, Primary

Thomas Robinson - Alaska Native Interest, Primary

Andrew Hartsig - Conservation Organization, Primary

Captain David Arzt - Alaska Marine Pilots, Primary

Andrew Mew - Ships Agents, Primary

Karen Pletnikoff - Subsistence User, Primary

Peggy McLaughlin - Chairwoman & Managing Board Representative

Captain Ed Page - Vessel Monitoring and Tracking, Primary

Managing Board

Shirley Marquardt, President

Captain Buddy Custard, Vice-President

Ex Officio

CAPT Leanne Lusk, U.S. Coast Guard, Sector Anchorage

CDR Matt Hobbie, U.S. Coast Guard, Sector Anchorage

CDR Justin Jacobs, U.S. Coast Guard, Sector Anchorage

Aaron Poe, Aleutian Bering Sea Initiative

Bernie Nowicki, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation

Crystal Smith, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation

Jeanette Alas, Alaska Department of Fish & Game

LCDR Bart Buesseler, NOAA

Other

Tim Robertson, Nuka Research and Planning Group Sara Nichols, Nuka Research and Planning Group

Scott Pegau

Ben Sullender

Jill Prewitt, AOOS

Kelly Kapsar

The sixth meeting of the Aleutian Islands Waterways Safety Committee was called to order at 13:02 by Chairwoman, Peggy McLaughlin.

Motion Tungul, Mew to approve the agenda as presented. Motion passes by nonobjection

Public Comments

Jill Prewitt - AOOS

Motion Hartsig, Woodley to approve the meeting summary of October 28, 2019 as presented. Motion passes by nonobjection

Ex Officio Reports

USCG

CDR Justin Jacobs

ADEC

Bernie Nowicki

NOAA

LCDR Bart Buesseler

ADFG

Jeanette Alas

Aleutian Bering Sea Initiative

Aaron Poe

Managing Board Report

Shirley Marquardt

WSC Chair Report

Peggy McLaughlin

Workgroup Reports

Waterways Safety Plan Workgroup

Captain Ed Page

Navigation Workgroup

Captain David Arzt

WSP Communications Workgroup

Sara Nichols

Facilitator's Report

Tim Robertson

ATBA Analysis Presentation

Benjamin Sullender

Oil Spill Recovery Institute Presentation

Scott Pegau

Annual Heavy Weather Guidelines Review

Motion Page, McLaughlin to approve the Heavy Weather Guidelines with no changes from the previous year.

This needs to be included in the WSP - take off dates and memorialize it w/ the caveat that any changes will be addressed with an annual review.

Motion passes unanimously

WSP Workgroup Chair and Vice-Chair

Action Items

Next Meeting

- Spring 2021 circulate doodle poll after Jan 1 for the end Mar, beg April
- Encourage workgroups to meet prior!! Small 20 min meetings