Aleutian Islands Waterways Safety Committee Roster

Last updated: March 4, 2024

Voting Members

Stakeholder Seat	Primary	Exp.	Alternate	Exp.
At Sea Fish Processors (a)	Chris Woodley	2026	vacant	
Commercial Fishing (b)	Frank Vargas	2026	vacant	
Commercial Fishing Vessels (c)	vacant		vacant	
<60 feet				
Passenger Vessels (d)	Steven Gabelein	2026	vacant	
Cargo Ships (e)	vacant		vacant	
Tank Vessels (f)	Ingo Rose	2026	vacant	
Barges (including cargo & petroleum) and	Captain Seth Chase	2026	David Ridge	2025
associated tugs (g)				
Assist Tugs (docking/rescue) (h)	Captain Chris Iszler	2026	vacant	
Port Director, Harbor Master, Local	Ernie Weiss	2026	vacant	
Government (i)				
Terminal Operators (j)	Jennifer Tungul	2026	vacant	
Oil Spill Response (k)	Matthew Odum	2026	vacant	
P&I Clubs (1)	vacant		vacant	
Salvage (m)	Todd Duke	2026	Kyle Watson	2027
Alaska Native Interest (n)	vacant		vacant	
Conservation Organizations (o)	Andrew Hartsig	2026	vacant	
Marine Pilots (p)	Captain David Arzt	2026	vacant	
Ship's Agents (q)	Andrew Mew	2026	Morgann Machalek	2025
Subsistence User (r)	Karen Pletnikoff	2026	vacant	
At Large (t)	vacant		vacant	
Vessel Monitoring and Tracking (u)	Captain Steve White	2027	vacant	

Managing Board of Directors

Director	Seat
Mayor Joe Bereskin	Member At Large
Shari Coleman	Secretary/Treasurer
Captain Buddy Custard	President
Peggy McLaughlin	Vice-President/HSC Chair

Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)

Member	Organization
Bernie Nowicki	ADEC
Ethan Nichols	ADF&G
Jeanette Alas	ADF&G
LT Caroline Wilkinson	NOAA
Aaron Poe	ABSI

Ex-Officio continued (Non-Voting)

Member	Organization	
Jeff Williams	USFWS	
Bridget Crokus	USFWS	
Captain Christopher Culpepper	US Coast Guard	
CDR Scott Farr	US Coast Guard	
CDR John Downing	US Coast Guard	
LT Tyler Justus	US Coast Guard	
LT William Mason	US Coast Guard	
BMC Stephen Braun	US Coast Guard	
MST2 Elizabeth Burges	US Coast Guard	
Daniel Payne	US Coast Guard	